The folkeskole

The majority of the DLF members are teachers in the public primary and lower secondary school called the folkeskole.

The Danish educational system is divided into 9-10 years of primary and lower secondary education, 3 years of upper secondary education, and higher education.

Denmark has nine years of compulsory primary and lower secondary school, a tenth year is optional. Approximately 87 per cent of all children attend the public basic school called the folkeskole. Today there are more than 1600 public schools in Denmark offering basic education. 98 per cent of all Danish children attend pre-school class before they begin school at the age of 6 or 7. The children may stay together in the same group from pre-school class up to the end of the 9th grade. The average class size is 20 pupils. The average teacher/pupil ratio is 1:11.

Find more information about the Folkeskole at the website of the Ministry of Children and Education.

Teachers of the folkeskole

Teachers qualify after four years of training, including six months of practical training, from one of the 18 teacher training colleges that are located all over the country.

The teacher training colleges are the only institutions that are authorised to provide the four-year programme, which qualifies directly for teaching posts in the Danish Folkeskole. Some 80 per cent of those employed as teachers at basic school level have been trained at one of the teacher training colleges.

Qualified teachers from other Nordic and EU countries can apply for a job in the Folkeskole on equal terms with Danish applicants. Other foreign teacher educations have to be formally approved by the Danish authorities through the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.